I think I am seeing an emerging theme in my recipes. I seem to favor endless combinations of pizza flavors. I am not addicted to pizza or anything but I do believe there can never be enough good variations on pizza. Which is exactly what we got to enjoy last night.

Last night, we attended a class involving the ladies from Brezel (a local german-style pretzel company). They told us a little about how their business got started. Basically, the owner was traveling in Germany and lived on the chewy dense pretzels sold on almost every corner (she is a vegan). After she returned home she tried to re-create what she had in Germany out of her kitchen. Fast-forward four years later and she now owns a thriving little spot at North Market as well as takes orders for her endless pretzel products. She makes pretzel buns, bread bowls, twists and pizza crusts!

We were fortunate enough to be able to create our own pretzel crust pizzas. Each of us was given out own (enormous!) individual crusts and we were allowed to customize it with a wide range of toppings.

I sauced mine with a spicy red tomato sauce and then topped with carmelized red onions, roasted garlic, smoked gouda shreds and parmesan cheese.

Before baking at 350 degrees for 10 minutes:

After:

So delicious! The crust is brushed with lye to give it that characteristic pretzel exterior. It was salty, chewy and very crisp on the outside with a soft interior. I loved the creamy flavor the smoked gouda added to the mix. I would definitely add it to my own homemade pizzas.

Dessert was perfection. It was another pretzel pizza crust topped with cinnamon butter, toasted coconut, almonds and chunks of dark chocolate. When you bit into it you got all the sweet flavors characteristic of a hello dolly bar but with background notes of salty pretzel:

Not a pretty picture but who wants to take pictures when you have the world’s best dessert sitting piping hot in front of you?

Altogether it was a very enjoyable evening. I think I am going to be ordering some of their butternut squash pretzel twists sometime in the very near future (maybe for Thanksgiving?)

You can find Brezel/order their products at www.brezelpower.com

 

 

 

 

