Hi everyone!

My name is Candace (as you may have deduced from my blog title) and I love to eat.

That is a simple enough statement, but from here it gets more complicated. Apparently 30 billion other people do as well and they all want to blog about where and what they are eating. Whether you love chia seed pudding or 7o cheese macaroni (this is not a real recipe but seriously have you seen how much cheese one can fit into a casserole?) there is some sort of blog that caters to your individual tastes. Therefore, my goal for this blog is to narrow down these recipes by focusing on the most simple, nutritious and delicious of the bunch.  I hope to help save your time and your waistline in the process. So. . .

sit back. . .

relax. . .

read. .

then  jump up and cook whatever is on the screen as fast as possible before your saliva ruins your keyboard. Your stomach and health will thank you.

To kick things off I am going to share a component of  my lunch from this afternoon. I recently stumbled (on my quest for all things healthfully delicious) upon a blog post by Mae found here. In her post Mae describes making a vegan cheese sauce from a one-to-one combo of hummus and nutritional yeast that has been thinned with a little water. I love hummus and I just bought a little bag of nutritional yeast from Whole Foods so I decided to give it a try. Let me tell you this was the most deliciously easy sauce/dressing I have ever made. It has a nice almost umami flavor and depth as well as incredible versatility.

Oh, and in case you haven’t heard of it, nutritional yeast are little yellow flakes of yeast that are beloved by many vegans because of their cheesy flavor that adds a subtle depth to a variety of dishes (it is also high in  vitamin B-12). This dressing is so easy that it doesn’t even need a recipe but for those of you that like precise amounts.

The World’s Easiest 2-Ingredient Salad Dressing

  • 1-2 tbsp of hummus
  • 1 tbsp of nutritional yeast

All you have to do is mix the two together and thin it out with some water to the consistency you desire.

I was thinking if you didn’t add water that this would make an amazing sandwich spread as well. You could even play with the seasonings by adding italian herbs, mustard, hot sauce etc. Here is the dressing below on my lunch salad of hard-boiled eggs, asparagus, roasted red potatoes and romaine:

Delicious!

