I have never been one to leap/jump/skip onto bandwagons. However, recently a lot of bloggers have been participating in the amazing “new” concept of creating recipes that are dessert inspired  for breakfast. Don’t get me wrong, I love dessert!  Except, in order for me to enjoy my breakfast and set a healthy tone for the rest of the day, I want my breakfasts to include some sort of fruit/veggie as well. So I have been experimenting with two recipes the past couple days (both of which meet my fruit/veggie criteria) to see if having “dessert” for breakfast is really as amazing as everyone says.

The first recipe I played with was a delicious (but healthy!) banana bread studded with a handful of chocolate chips. I originally got the recipe from Cooking Light magazine about a year ago and have made it several times since (with a few modifications). My family loves this bread and have already gobbled up most of the loaf. Here is my modified recipe

Smells Like Your Grandma’s House (in a good way) Banana Bread

  • 3 mashed ripe bananas
  • 1/3 cup plain fat-free yogurt (or light sour cream)
  • 5 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2  large eggs
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips (roughly chopped)

Preheat your oven to 350°. Then combine the bananas, yogurt, butter and eggs in a large bowl and beat with a mixer until blended (it will be lemony yellow and kind of silky). Then beat in the white and brown sugars. Set aside.

In a new bowl combine the dry ingredients (flour through cinnamon) and stir with a whisk. Then combine the flour mixture and the banana mixture by beating with the mixer just until blended. Fold in the chopped chocolate chips.

Pour batter into a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan coated with cooking spray. Bake at 350° for about 50-55 minutes Remove from oven; cool 10 minutes in pan on a wire rack. Remove bread from pan; cool completely on wire rack.

This bread is so delicious and incredibly easy to make. It comes out of the oven with a beautiful burnished brown crust due to the carmelization reactions of the bananas and sugar. It also (according to Cooking Light) has around 200 calories a slice (if cut into 16 slices). So paired with some yogurt or peanut butter (gasp), this should keep you full till lunch time and then some. Plus, you can make this bread on the weekend and snack on it/grab it for breakfast as you run full tilt out the door!

Disclaimer: this bread can’t make rain stop, fix your car or pay the bills, but it can make your day a little brighter and your belly a little warmer so make it today!

Oh yeah? I did say I had two dessert-inspired recipes to share. I will post a pie themed recipe tommorrow so stay tuned.

