Breakfast has been becoming more and more of my favorite meal. I feel like there are so many endless options that I can experiment with–especially when it comes to oatmeal. Oatmeal is great because it is filling and so neutral that it can be combined with a variety of ingredients from sweet to savory. Unfortunately, I can’t vouch for any savory versions of oats because the one time I tried them it consisted of me stirring one of the only ingredients in my fridge (hummus) into a bowl of hot oats. Yuck! They might be amazing when they are apart but they were never meant to be together (kind of like Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie). Anyways. . . my aversion to savory oats leads to experiment with the sweeter options and that is how I discovered Hungry Girl’s Pumpkin Pie Parfait.

Let me tell you, this was delicious. Before I say more about it though I want to make sure we are on the same page when we talk about dessert for breakfast. Yesterday I shared that I try to incorporate some sort of fruit or veggie into every meal. This parfait fits into my goal quite nicely considering it contains pumpkin (shocker!). Having said that, I just wanted to let you know that this parfait is very filling, delicious and crave-worthy but it will never replace a piece of pumpkin pie. Whew! Now that I have that off my chest I can tell you that this packs a serving of whole grains as well as contains canned pumpkin both of which contribute to a high fiber content that will keep you full until lunch (something that most slices of pumpkin pie can’t promise you). So without further adieu. . .

Pumpkin Pie Parfait (adapted from Hungry Girl’s  300 under 300)

Oatmeal

  • 1/3 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 3/4 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze (I used original almond breeze)
  •  1/3 cup canned pure pumpkin
  • 2 no-calorie sweetener packets
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
  • Dash salt

Other stuff

  • One 60-calorie sugar-free vanilla pudding snack
  • 1 low-fat honey graham cracker (broken into pieces)

Combine all ingredients for oatmeal in a small pot on the stove. Bring to a boil, and then reduce to a simmer. Cook while stirring often, until somewhat thick (it doesn’t have to be that thick because as the oats sit overnight they will puff up and absorb the liquid). Allow to cool for about 10 minutes. Transfer to a bowl and refrigerate overnight.

The next morning stir the oatmeal thoroughly. Spoon half of the oatmeal into a tall glass (a martini glass makes this parfait taste like five times better), and top with half of the pudding snack and half of the crushed graham crackers. Repeat with remaining oatmeal, pudding, and crushed graham crackers.

As a side note, this recipe is only about 300 calories and it is pretty sweet. So if you are not into pudding or you want to increase this breakfasts staying power you can sub about 1/3 cup of greek yogurt sweetened with sweetener and cinnamon and still get the same flavors.

I love this breakfast in the summer (even though it is slightly fall themed) because I can make the oatmeal the night before and all I have to do is assemble the parfait in the morning. It is also a cool (literally) way to get some oats in without having to eat a steaming hot bowl when it is 95 degrees out. Yum!

Well, that’s it for today. I will try to post something more savory in my next post since I posted two breakfast recipes in a row. But, who can blame me? They were both so delicious that I wanted to share them with you 🙂

