Ever since the age of 13 when I discovered Reese’s Peanut Butter Puffs in the cereal aisle of our local Wal-mart, breakfast has never been the same. You see, I crave those tiny orbs of peanut butter goodness. I love their crunch and how they turn the milk in my cereal into chocolate milk with the light scent of peanut butter. Then one day I had the terrible realization that this cereal was more suited for a dessert then a breakfast and I have been searching for a healthier peanut butter and chocolate breakfast combo ever since. Therefore I am pleased to introduce you to Reese’s Oatmeal

This stuff will satisfy both your stomach and your cravings for several hours and it can be made either hot or cold (so you can eat it in the winter or summer).

Reese’s Oatmeal (cold version)

  • 1/2 cup of old-fashioned oatmeal
  • 1 1/2 cups of water
  • pinch of salt
  • 25 calorie packet of diet cocoa
  • 1 tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp of PB2 (mixed with 1 tbsp of water) or 1 tbsp of regular peanut butter

The night before, microwave your oats with the water and salt for 3 minutes in a very large bowl (I always use a large pyrex glass measuring cup). Allow to cool in the microwave for 10 minutes before stirring and transferring uncovered to the fridge to sit overnight. In the morning, stir in diet cocoa and cocoa powder. Mix PB2 with water and swirl on top of chocolate oatmeal.

Reese’s Oatmeal (hot version) (adapted from the PB2 website)

  • 1/2 cup of old-fashioned oatmeal
  • 3/4 cup of water
  •  25 calorie packet of diet cocoa
  • 1 tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp PB2 (mixed with 1 tbsp of water) or 1 tbsp of peanut butter

Combine oats, water, diet cocoa, and cocoa powder in a large microwave safe bowl.  Microwave for 1 minute then stir. Then continue to microwave for another 1-2 minutes until very thick. Mix PB2 and water to correct consistency and swirl on top of chocolate oatmeal (or just swirl 1 tbsp of peanut butter on top)

This oatmeal has about 250 calories when made with PB2 and 300 calories if made with regular peanut butter. Oh and btw, I don’t know if you can see it but I always eat this oatmeal out of my Reese’s Bowl. Somehow, I think it makes it taste better but it is optional :).

 

