Recently, I signed up at Whole Foods to recieve farmer’s pick bags (a little like CSA boxes). I have loved getting to try all sorts of produce that I normally wouldn’t have bought. My favorite find has been the delicious Delicata squash. It looks a little like zucchini but it takes like a cross between butternut squash and a sweet potato (both of which are some of my favorite root vegetables. It is also really cool because you don’t have to peel it and when it is sliced horizontally it is shaped like a flower.

There really isn’t any recipe that I used for this squash. All I did was slice it on the horizontal. . .

and then I scooped out the seeds and sliced it into 1/4 inch thick rings which I sprayed with olive oil cooking spray and then sprinkled with some kosher salt before roasting at 450 degrees for about 25-30 minutes (flipping half-way through)

Healthy finger food! Kids will love the shape and sweet nutty taste. I served mine with roasted salmon and wilted spinach

It was satisfying and nutritious. A definite keeper.

