It is a beautiful and crisp Sunday afternoon here in Ohio. I can see a few leaves from my window beginning to take on a slight yellowish tinge. For some reason cool weather seems to stimulate my appetite. Gone are the days of “it’s so hot all I can do is pick at something cool like fruit and yogurt.” I am now waking up with a much for formidable appetite that involves large bowls of steaming hot oatmeal topped with assortment of add-ins.Which was what inspired me to experiment with this recipe.

This recipe is a continuation of my dessert-inspired breakfast series (the first installment was the pumpkin pie oatmeal parfait this past summer). It is inspired by carrot cake and tastes very similar to a hot carrot cake muffin. Only instead of frosting I topped it with lightly spiced and sweetened Greek yogurt for extra protein. It was absolutely delicious and will definitely become a staple in my “I only have ten minutes and I need something to tide me over for 5 hours rotation” as I run out the door for classes.

Carrot Cake Oatmeal (serves 1)

1/2 cup of old-fashioned oats
1/2 cup of almond milk
1/2 cup of water
2 tbsp of currants (I like how they distribute better through the oatmeal due to their small size but you can sub regular raisins)
1 medium shredded carrot (a little than 1/2 a cup)
a sprinkle of nutmeg and cinnamon
sweetener of choice (maple syrup, agave, splenda etc.)
Optional toppings: shredded coconut, greek yogurt, nut butter or walnuts

Cook the oats with the almond milk and water on the stove for about 3-4 minutes. Add in currants, shredded carrot and nutmeg/cinnamon and continue cooking until the oatmeal reaches desired consistency. Stir in sweetener of choice and top with whatever toppings you desire (I am thinking pineapple flavored Chobani would play off the carrot cake theme perfectly). Enjoy!

