Today I did two things I don’t normally do. The first thing I did was go see a movie that didn’t involve anything romantic or mythical.

Yes.

I went and saw Lincoln.

It was incredible.

I was probably the youngest person in the theatre but I definitely think that it is a must watch for people of all ages. It really brought to life and helped flesh out the character of Abraham Lincoln. I realized that I knew very little about him besides for his involvement in the 13th Amendment and that he was shot in Ford’s Theatre. However, after watching this movie I feel that I can picture him in my mind the way he might have talked, walked and his family. I must say Daniel Day-Lewis did an incredible job and he deserves any recognition he receives for his role. If you get a chance I highly recommend seeing this movie.

Back to food.

The second thing I did today that I don’t normally do was eat a banana! I have avoided bananas ever since I went to the dentist office when I was little where I requested banana-flavored fluoride and promptly proceeded to swallow all of it instead of spitting it out. I then spent the next half an hour throwing up in the waiting room bathroom. It really is a sad thing because bananas are so versatile and can add a natural sweetness to smoothies, oatmeal and baked goods. Since today was a day of trying new things I decided to rediscover the banana.

I have seen this idea floating around on Pinterest for a while and decided to give it a try. Basically, you cut a banana in half stuff it with whatever filling you desire and bake for 10-15 minutes. I especially liked the idea of filling the banana with dessert-like ingredients because I thought it would help mask the banana flavor so I picked a Smores filled banana.

 

Smores Banana Boats

  • 1 banana
  • 2 tbsp of crushed graham crackers
  • 2 tbsp of chocolate chips
  • 8 mini marshmallows
  • Optional: whipped topping

Leave the banana in the peel and cut the banana in half and open like a book. Fill with graham crackers and chocolate chips and top with mini marshmallows. Wrap tightly in foil and bake for 10-15 minutes. Serve warm with a dollop of cool whip.

The verdict? This recipe is so simple and a great way to get kids to eat fruit for dessert. I thought it was delicious (especially the filling) and managed to eat a few bites of the banana as well. So, while I still can’t manage a whole banana, I think that I am off to a good start. Baby steps 🙂

 

