Pumpkin Pancakes Close

I know that the season for pumpkin officially “ended” with Thanksgiving. However, I feel that this nutrient-packed and fiber rich food deserves a place in meals all-year round. It is a pantry staple at my house and I always have about five cans stored up in the event of a canned pumpkin scarcity (it did actually happen once several years ago so one can’t be too careful).

A friend gave me this pancake recipe a long time ago (I think it actually came from a B and B)  and I make it fairly regularly. It contains a full cup of pumpkin as well as buttermilk, both of which yield a more moist pancake without a lot of addition fat. I have served this recipe to guests numerous times and everyone always raves about them. They are sweet, moist and spicy with a nice density that isn’t too heavy and somehow manage to retain a certain “fluffiness.” The key here is to use real buttermilk. I have tried making my own buttermilk with the vinegar added to milk method and it just doesn’t yield as spectacular results. Believe me, you will be very happy you invested in the real stuff once you have tried these amazing pancakes.

Pumpkin Pancakes

 Perfectly Spiced Pumpkin Pancakes (makes enough for about 6 people)

Dry Ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups of all-purpose flour (whole-wheat is too dense)
  • 2 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp of nutmeg
  • 1 tsp of ginger
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 1/4 tsp of all-spice
  • 1/2 tsp of baking soda
  • 1 Tbsp of baking powder

Wet Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup of canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup of butter, melted
  • 2 cups of low-fat buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup of packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp of vanilla

Mix all dry ingredients in a medium-size bowl with a whisk. In a separate large bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients. Pour the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and stir until just combined (don’t over mix there will still be some lumps and that’s ok). Spoon about 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake onto a hot greased skillet and cook until the edges look dry. Flip and continue cooking until cooked through. Serve with warm maple syrup. Enjoy the best pancakes you will ever eat!

 

 

 

