Snick Oat

Finals are over. What a relief. . . now I just have one more semester until graduation! I am so excited and nervous because I have begun the process of filling out applications to different Dietetics internship programs. I have also begun to study for the GRE (like the SAT for grad school). I can’t believe how much math I can forget in 2-3 years. I took up to college-level calculus as a freshman but now I am back to learning the basics of high-school math (the highest level of math that the GRE tests). So that is gist of what I will be doing for the next 3-4 weeks. I really know how to have fun 😉

In terms of food, it is finally egg nog season. My entire family loves egg nog. Unfortunately, we have two issues with it. First, egg nog is not the healthiest food on the planet. Second, half of my family is severely allergic to eggs. So for the past several years we have been trying different dairy-free replacement options that just haven’t been up to the nog par. Real egg nog has a nice weight to it in your mouth–a thick creaminess that has to be replicated in order for it to feel like you are drinking the real deal. Many replacements focus on just providing an egg nog flavor and are rather watery and overly sweet. However, I am pleased to announce that we have finally searched out the perfect replacement egg nog:

nog

So Delicious Coconut Milk Nog is astonishingly close to the real thing. It is so thick with just the right level of spice and sweetness (the nutrition isn’t too bad either 3 grams of fat versus 10 grams in traditional egg nog and about a 1/2 of the calories). I could think of a thousand ways to use this product (egg nog martini?) but since the taste reminded me a little of a Snickerdoodle cookie I decided to make a Snickerdoodle oatmeal. It was a good decision.

Snickerdoodle Oatmeal:

  • 1/2 cup of quick-cooking dry oats
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1/4 cup of So Delicious Coconut Milk Nog
  • 1/2 a banana (chopped into small pieces)
  • 1/2 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp of vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp of cream of tartar (gives the oatmeal a more snickerdoodle-like taste)
  • 1/8 tsp of salt

Stir all ingredients together in a small pot and bring to simmer over medium heat. Stir frequently to help the banana break down and “melt” into the oats. Cook until desired consistency. This oatmeal will thicken slightly if you allow it to cool for a couple of minutes (if you can wait that long). Enjoy!

