What is about a spontaneously deciding to go out to brunch that makes you feel so indulgent?

The reason for today’s brunch was actually due to a favor that my sister owed to me from this past summer. She decided to pay me back in the form of a meal at North Star Cafe (a locally owned restaurant in Columbus).

She knows me too well.

I would do pretty much anything to eat at North Star. I love their food because it is absolutely delicious and always very good quality (much of the menu emphasizes locally sourced ingredients).

It was very busy when we walked into the restaurant around 10 am but we only waited in line for a few minutes–during which we were offered a sample of a dense triple chocolate cookie (best wait I have every had). We both ordered and then spent a few minutes waiting for a table to open up before clipping our order number onto  a little stand attached to the napkin holder.

After a short wait, which we spent people-watching the other customers (mostly a young adults with a few younger families), a sunny server delivered our meal. For me, a side of roasted sweet potatoes mixed with peppers and onions and another side of two farm-fresh poached eggs. For my sister, a hearty bowl of oatmeal served with warm cream. The server also brought three bowls filled with almonds, sunflower seeds and cranberries which she sprinkled on top of the oatmeal. The presentation of our dishes was pleasing but not as much as the flavor. All I can say is their roasted sweet potatoes are crave-worthy.

Brunch sweet potatoes

They were roasted until they crisped and carmelized (and how cute is the tiny sprinkle of parsley on the eggs? Tiny details) and the onions and peppers sort of melted into the potatoes adding dimension and sweetness to the dish. My only critique would be there was a little too much oil for my taste. Otherwise they were outstanding.

brunch oatmeal

My sister’s oatmeal was also very good. She said it tasted like it was cooked with milk instead of water (always a good sign).

Best.

Brunch.

Ever.

Why don’t we do this more often? Well, at North Star you pay for the quality of your food. If you want locally sourced organic ingredients you are going to have to be willing to pay for it because it gets expensive fast. However, if you are craving a delicious filling brunch that you can feel good about, look no further than North Star. You won’t be disappointed.

