We have had record snow fall here in Ohio–close to 11 inches total from two separate snow storms. I don’t mind snow too much as long as I can still drive in it and go about my day without falling on my butt. Though I have noticed a tendency I am developing called “sitting on the couch all day next to the fire and television.” In fact, it was about part-way into my third movie this afternoon that I decided it was time to go for a walk.

An hour and 20 layers later I was walking on pristine powdery snow next to a small creek near our house. I live in a secluded area of the city so on normal days we can hear plenty of traffic noise but today the only sounds to be heard were the babble of the water and the cardinals. It was so peaceful.

Winter

One downside of snow though is that events tend to be canceled, which is how I found myself with the world’s largest bowl of pineapple mango salsa and no one to share it with (our church was going to have a salsa-making contest which was canceled due to the two snowstorms).

Pineapple Salsa 2

Needless to say we have been discovering new ways to eat salsa.  We have tried it on chips, pita, in tacos, on salad and tonight we had it on top of paprika-dusted cod (my favorite way so far).

This salsa is so fresh and sweet with pops of flavor from lime, cilantro and flakes of sea salt that almost make it taste like a margarita. This recipe is based on a salsa served at Whole Foods. My two recommendations for getting it just right is to dice everything very small so you get a good variety of flavors in every bite and don’t leave out the salt because it really enhances the overall flavor.

Sweet and Salty Pineapple Mango Salsa (makes approximately 3-4 cups)

  • 1 pineapple-cored and diced
  • 1 ripe mango-peeled and diced (add a little agave nectar to your chopped mango if it is still slightly green)
  • 1/2 bunch of finely chopped cilantro
  • 1/2 of a green bell pepper-diced
  • 1/2 of a red bell pepper-diced
  • 1/2 of a red onion-diced
  • Juice from 1 fresh lime
  • Kosher salt

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl except lime juice and salt. Then add the lime juice and salt to taste. Allow to stand 5 minutes then taste and adjust seasonings as necessary. Enjoy!

Pineapple Salsa

So colorful (and tasty)!

Now it is back to studying for me. I am taking the GRE tomorrow. So relieved it is finally here so I can be finished and done with it 🙂

 

 

