Apple Oatmeal

Most people have a go-to breakfast.  I usually eat some variation of oatmeal or a wrap with scrambled eggs and vegetables. Lately though, I have re-discovered my love for greek yogurt. I always buy 2% because I love the taste that a few grams of fat add.  It is so creamy, protein-rich and full of “good bugs” as my professor would say (probiotics).

Initially I would put a small dollop on top of my oatmeal to add protein naturally without having to use protein powder. My initial ratio of yogurt to oatmeal was 1:3, but I was finding that I would be overly hungry by the time I was able to eat lunch around 1-1:30. I decided to try playing with the amounts I used of each ingredient so I upped the amount of Greek yogurt and cut back on the oats so the ratio was almost 1:1. Then I added some fruit and a dollop of peanut butter and I had a delicious and filling breakfast that lasted me all the way until lunch with not a belly growl in sight.

Here is the method I use but feel free to play around with different amounts, sweeteners, fruits, nut butters, etc.

Apple Cinnamon Protein Oats (serves 1)

Ingredients:

1/2 apple (chopped small)
1/3 cup of quick-oats
1/2 cup of greek yogurt
1 tbsp of peanut butter
optional: sweetener of choice, cinnamon, vanilla extract

Instructions

Combine oats and 2/3 cup of water in a small saucepan and cook until desired consistency. Stir in cinnamon, sweetener and vanilla extract if desired.
Put cooked oats in a bowl and place in the fridge for a few minutes to cool and thicken while you assemble the rest of the ingredients (I do this so the oats don’t heat up my yogurt too much because I enjoy the combination of the warm oatmeal and the cold yogurt).
Meanwhile, combine greek yogurt in a small bowl with more cinnamon and sweetener. Set aside.
Combine chopped apple and cinnamon in a bowl. Microwave for 40 seconds.
Remove oatmeal from the fridge, stir and push it to one side of the bowl. Add yogurt mixture to the other half of the bowl and top with warm apples. Place a scoop of peanut butter on top. Enjoy!

