Butternut Squash Noodles

I am a HUGE pad thai fan. I can inhale untold quantities of that steaming medley of deliciousness but I save that sort of indulgence for dining out.

At home I prefer to make something a little quicker and healthier. This dish is super simple and comes together fairly quickly (once you make the “noodles”)

The original recipe comes from a blog called Cara Cravings (I really dig the blog name 😉 )

I made several modifications to streamline the ingredient list and cooking process.

Butternut Squash Noodles with Peanut Sauce (serves 2)

1 medium butternut squash, peeled, and thinly sliced with a good quality vegetable peeler into “noodles”
1/4 cup almond milk (from a carton)
2 tablespoons all-natural peanut butter
1 tablespoon tomato paste
3 tablespoons water
1 tablespoon reduced sodium soy sauce
2-3 teaspoons chili-garlic paste
juice of 1/2 lime
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon curry powder
1 clove of garlic
1/2 tbsp of agave nectar
2 tablespoons currants (or raisins)
2 tablespoons shredded unsweetened coconut
fresh chopped cilantro and/or mint, for garnish

Directions:

Grate long, thin strips of butternut squash using a good quality vegetable peeler (this will take about 5 minutes but it is well worth it).
To make the sauce, combine  almond milk, peanut butter, tomato paste, water, soy sauce, chili-garlic paste, lime juice, agave, garlic, ginger and curry powder in a blender. Process until smooth.

Place 1/4 cup water, squash, and raisins in a large, nonstick saute pan. Turn heat to high, cover, and steam for 3-4 minutes. Check and see if the squash is tender at this point. Add more water if needed to keep the squash from sticking to the pan and steam 1-2 minutes more until tender. Remove cover and pour in sauce. Cook for 1-2 more minutes, stirring, until heated through. Divide among serving bowls and garnish with coconut, mint, or cilantro.

Serve hot. I added baked tofu cubes to help round out the meal. All I did was press and drain a block of tofu. Then I marinated it in soy sauce for 20 minutes and baked it at 350 degrees until brown and crispy (about 35-40 minutes).

B Noodles

I loved this dish! It reminded me so much of pad thai but it was much healthier. Whatever you do–don’t leave out the currants/raisins. They really enhance the naturally sweetness of the squash and provide a nice contrast to the coconut and peanut sauce. As one family member said “I could eat this every night for dinner if you would make it.” I appreciated the compliment but I think I might develop some sort of butternut squash peeling related carpal tunnel syndrome. Still, this dish is well-worth the little extra work. Enjoy!

 

