Greek Quinoa Mezze

Looks a little like summer doesn’t it (only minus the perfectly sweet tomato slices because mine was mealy. . . oh well)

This recipes comes from Mama Pea whose had her recipes being posted all over blogosphere today with the release of her new recipe book. I actually just finished reading her first book and really enjoyed her recipes. She has a talent for making the flavors of healthy food accessible to not just adults but children as well (she probably gets lots of practice considering she has two young daughters herself).

It’s funny because I was actually planning on making one of her recipes that I have made a variation of a number of times tonight for dinner. It is your basic quinoa dressed up with sunny mediterranean flavors. I love it because it is super simple, takes about 20 minutes and can be served with hummus (always a plus in my book).

I served ours warm because, even though it is suppose to be spring in Ohio, the weather is still clinging to the last cool gray days of winter.

The quinoa tasted sort of like the summer that lies ahead (only better 🙂 ).

Mama Pea’s Greek Spinach Quinoa (Makes 6 servings)

  • 1 c. quinoa, rinsed and drained
  • 2 c. vegetable stock
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 c. baby spinach, chopped
  • 1/2 c. crumbled feta
  • 1/3 c. sundried tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/4 c. Kalamata olives, sliced
  • 1 t. dried oregano
  • 1/2 t. dried parsley
  • 2 T. balsamic vinegar
  • optional garnishes: baked pita chips, hummus, Greek yogurt, vegetable crudités

Place a medium pot over medium high heat.  Add quinoa and dry toast for several minutes, until grains are starting to brown.  Add stock and season with salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 15 to 20 minutes, until all of the liquid is absorbed and grains are fluffy.

Add spinach, cheese, tomatoes, olives, oregano, parsley and vinegar and continue to heat until spinach starts to wilt and cheese has melted.

Serve hot or cold with desired garnishes or as part of a mezza platter.

Quinoa Close

Can you tell I like my food from my pictures? I don’t “style” my food per se like some bloggers do because I am always in a hurry to eat it! Yes, I eat everything I post :). Just sort of a disclaimer.

I served our quinoa with a dollop of greek yogurt, sliced onion roast beef from Whole Foods, spicy hummus, whole-wheat pita, kalamata olives and cucumber (not in season but it completed the theme somewhat). It was a nice combination but I think a piece of white fish or chicken might pair better with the quinoa.

I am definitely going to save this recipe for summer and serve it chilled with fresh veggies and hummus. I am looking forward to it already. 3 more weeks left of school for me (can you tell it is on my mind?)

 

