Mexican Breakfast Pizza 1

I love oatmeal for breakfast (an opinion I have expressed more than once: here, here (my favorite) and here). It is so filling and keeps me satiated much longer than any other breakfasts I have tried. Then, I threw together this breakfast on a whim yesterday morning.

It was one of those mornings that you feel like breaking out of your usual breakfast rut. The birds were singing the air was warm–too warm for a hot bowl of oatmeal. I was craving something a little more savory.

I opened the fridge.

I spied some tortillas and started to think of different breakfast options that utilized said tortillas. Eventually, I settled on a mix of a breakfast taco and a tostada and the Mexican Breakfast Pizza was born.

Quick High-Protein Mexican Breakfast Pizza (serves 1)

1 large whole-wheat tortilla (I used La Tortilla Factory’s low-carb tortillas)
1/4 cup of black beans
2 tbsp of Greek yogurt
1 egg (scrambled or fried)
4-5 cherry tomatoes (chopped)
1/4 of an avocado (chopped)
optional toppings: light sour cream, hot sauce, cilantro

Directions

Heat the tortilla in a large non-stick pan until firm and crispy. Meanwhile, in a separate non-stick pan cook egg as desired. Warm the black beans in a microwave for 15 seconds. Mash the black beans with the Greek yogurt (you can add a sprinkle of any seasoning you like here such as cumin, chili powder, garlic powder etc).  Spread black bean mixture over tortilla “crust” and top with egg, chopped cherry tomatoes and avocado. Add a dash of hot sauce or any other toppings you desire. Cut into wedges and eat!

Mexican Breakfast Pizza 2

Delicious and filling! A new favorite for the 2 days a year I don’t wake up craving oatmeal for breakfast 😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

