Cookie Pie

Well, I guess it is not so much of a secret anymore to swap beans for some of the oil and fat found in regular baked goods. However, it is a secret as to why some people are so enamoured by this concept and are ruining perfectly good brownie recipes left and right by subbing in a can of black beans.
If I am eating dessert I want it to taste like dessert. My qualifications for dessert are:
1. It has to be rich
2. It has include chocolate or peanut butter
3. It has to taste amazing (no canned frosting or snack cakes please!)

This cookie pie by Chocolate Covered Katie fits all three of my qualifications even though it includes the dreaded bean swap trick.

I first encountered this recipe last year when I made it for my mom’s birthday. It was like chomping into a giant, thick, gooey, warm cookie and the recipe earned five stars from the whole family. So, I made it again for Mother’s Day (only a few week later, bad timing if you ask me!) and it turned out just a delicious with not a hint of beany aftertaste. Then. . . I stopped making it. It was just too delicious and I would ultimately devour any leftover servings within days (it’s “healthy” but not that healthy 😉 ).

I had cursed myself though because for the past year I have received multiple requests from different family members to “please make the cookie pie again.”

Finally, I have reintroduced this tempting dessert back into my repertoire. It is here to stay because life is too short to not eat thick gooey cookie pie daily.

Chocolate-Chip Cookie Pie (serves 12) (credit to Chocolate Covered Katie)

■2 cans white beans or garbanzos (drained and rinsed) (500g total, once drained)
■1 cup quick oats
■1/4 cup pureed pumpkin
■2 tsp pure vanilla extract
■1/2 tsp baking soda
■2 tsp baking powder
■1/2 tsp salt
■1 and 1/2 tsp cinnamon
■3 tbsp vegetable oil or coconut oil
■1 and 1/2 cups brown sugar or coconut sugar
■1 cup chocolate chips

Blend everything (except the chips) very well in a food processor (NOT a blender). Blend until it’s super-smooth. Mix in chips, and pour into a pan. (I used a 10-inch springform pan, but you can use a smaller pan if you want a really deep-dish pie.) Cook at 350F for 35 minutes. Let stand at least 10 minutes before removing from the pan.

Cookie Pie 2

Now I am off to take my final exam as an undergraduate! I leave an undergrad and return an alumnus of the OSU Dietetics program 🙂

